National Association of Neonatal Nurses logo.

Mentor of the Year Award

The Mentor of the Year Award recognizes a NANN member who consistently demonstrates the power of mentoring. Recipients are clinically and technically proficient, demonstrate outstanding teaching and motivational ability, and willingly share their knowledge and experience with others. This award was previously called the Navigator Award.

The nomination period for the 2024 Awards is March 25—May 24, 2024.

Apply Now

Candidates will be able to meet the following criteria:

• Perform in a mentoring role (Preceptor, NNP, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Nurse Manager, Educator, etc.).
• Demonstrate excellence in mentoring others.
• Utilize interpersonal, motivational, and teaching skills in the mentoring process.
• Facilitate team building, staff growth, and development.
• Promote a climate of learning for the novice and passion for educating that encourages, challenges, and inspires a model of professionalism for everyone.

Nomination and Selection Process:

NANN members can nominate a peer or self-nominate themselves for the Mentor of the Year Award. Nominations must include one letter of recommendation and a CV. Submitted applications are shared with the Awards Committee. Committee members review and score the applicants based on their ability to meet the award's criteria.

Recognition and Reimbursement:

The awardee will receive complimentary conference registration, airfare/ground transportation stipend of $500, housing stipend of $500, and a trophy at NANN's Annual Conference.

2023 Recipient:

lisa grisham 450

Lisa Grisham, MS, NNP-BC

Past Recipients:

2022 - Margaret Hopkins, BSN RN CCRN C-ELBW CPLC 
2021 - Andrea C. Morris, DNP CNS RNC-NIC CCRN NTMNC
2020 - Kristen Gerhardt, MSN RNC-NIC
2019 - Kelly Gilhousen, MSN RNC-NIC RN-BC
2018 - Susan Meier, DNP APRN NNP-BC
2017 - Susan Furdon, MS NNP-BC RNC
2016 - Amelia Bieda, PhD APRN PNP-BC NNP-BC
2015 - Shakira Henderson, PhD(c) DNP MS MPH RNC-NIC IBCLC
2014 - Anne Salice, MSN RN PNP NNP-BC
2013 - Jennifer Hamilton-Gilpin, BSN RN
2012 - Nancy Burke, MSN ARNP RNC-NIC
2011 - Tina Keane, BSN RNC-NIC
2010 - Pamela Spivey, MSN RN CCNS