National Association of Neonatal Nurses logo.

Lifetime Achievement in Neonatal Nursing Award

The Lifetime Achievement in Neonatal Nursing Award recognizes an individual’s longstanding commitment to and profound impact on the field of neonatal nursing. This award may be presented to a NANN member, a non-NANN member, a non-nurse, or posthumously.

The nomination period for the 2024 Awards is March 25—May 24, 2024.

Apply Now

Candidates will be able to meet the following criteria:

• Has participated in the publication of materials that have had a profound effect on the direction or practice of neonatal nursing.
• Completed research in the field that has contributed to the advancement of nursing practice in neonatal care or improved outcomes for neonates.
• Has actively worked with other healthcare organizations and the community to improve the quality of neonatal care across the continuum of care.
• Demonstrated outstanding initiative in advancing the education of colleagues, patients, and the public.

Nomination and Selection Process:

Nominations will be submitted by the NANN membership. NANN's Board of Directors will review the nominations and select the awardee. You may not self-nominate for the Lifetime Achievement in Neonatal Nursing Award.

Recognition and Reimbursement:

The awardee will receive complimentary conference registration, airfare/ground transportation stipend of $600, housing stipend of $500, $250 honorarium, and a trophy at NANN's Annual Conference.

2023 Recipient:

Suzanne Staebler, DNP, NNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN

Past Recipients:

2022 - Rita H. Pickler, PhD RN FAAN
2021 - Madge E. Buus-Frank, DNP APRN-BC FAAN
2020 - Debra Brandon, PhD RN CNS FAAN
2019 - Terry Johnson, APN NNP-BC MN CLEC
2019 - Mary Ellen Honeyfield, DNP RN NNP-BC
2018 - Carol Jaeger, DNP RN APRN NNP-BC
2017 - Jacqueline McGrath, PhD RN FNAP FAAN
2016 - Diane L. Spatz, PhD RN-BC FAAN & Frances Strodtbeck, PhD RN NNP-BC FAAN
2015 - Robin L. Bissinger, PhD APRN NNP-BC FAAN
2014 - Carole A. Kenner, PhD RN FAAN & Terri Cavaliere, DNP RN NNP-BC
2011 - Gene Anderson, PhD RN FAAN
2009 - Charles Rait, MSEd BSN RN PNC
2008 - Kara L. Coker, MSN RN